IVI Young Optometry Researcher Rolling Trophy 2016-2017

  • indiavisioninstitute

The “IVI Young Optometry Researcher Rolling Trophy”, an initiative to promote research among Optometry students in India, was organised on 16 February, 2017 at Chennai. The symposium provided a platform for five shortlisted students out of nine applications received from Optometry institutions across India to present their research projects. 

Navya Deepthi Davara from BLSO, Brien Holden Vision Institute, Hyderabad was declared as the best young Optometry researcher on the basis of her project, “Eye tracking in visual Search experiment in normally sighted adults”. She received a travel grant of INR 5000 along with a certificate, and the institute received the rolling trophy for the year 2016-17. BLSO, Brien Holden Vision Institute has won this trophy for the second time in the past three years. 

The other four participants; Sowmya Saravanan from Shri Prakash Institute of Optometry, Chennai; Nimisha K Shaju from Lotus Bausch & Lomb school of Optometry, Coimbatore; Lakshya Arora from Dr R P Center for Ophthalmic Sciences(AIIMS), New Delhi; G Jamunasri from SRM Medical College, SRM University, Potheri received certificate of participation.

The symposium was evaluated by a panel of experts including, Prof Kovin Naidu, CEO, Brien Holden Vision Institute and Dr. Sudharshini Subramanian, Assistant Professor, Madras Medical College, Chennai.

S Gayathri from SRM Medical College, SRM University, Potheri won the Rolling Trophy last year.